Unit 2 – Diigo

As I work my way through the notes and tutorials on Diigo, I’m thinking I need to take on a more optimistic outlook to online learning.  I feel I’ve done nothing but complain about how difficult everything is, with systems locked down so only IT administrators can load material, you constantly wonder why do I bother, then suddenly you find you can load something and get this overwhelming feeling that maybe you will learn something after all.  [ I’ve just noticed that my draft note has automatically been saved, don’t know when I set that function, or did I?]

As with Evernote, creating the account is the easy bit.  So we work through the options of trying to get the toolbar or next best equiviant loaded.  Need Administrator rights to load the toolbar, (what’s new). Going to try the Simple Bookmarklet.  Instructions say to :

Post to Diigo

Post to diigo button allows you to post your current page to diigo.com

Set-up

  • Make sure the “Bookmarks Toolbar” is checked under View → Toolbars.
  • Firefox and Safari: Drag this link: Post to diigo up to your Bookmarks Toolbar.
  • Internet Explorer: Right-click Post to diigo and select “Add to Favorites”. A Security Alert dialogue will warn you that the link may be unsafe, click “Yes”(don’t worry, it’s safe!).
  • To post bookmarks to Diigo on iPhone, please see instruction here.
  • Feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

But I cannot see a Bookmarks toolbar under View- Toolbars.  See screen image.

Image

So either I’m blind or I’m doing this incorrectly. It’s got to be the latter, as everyone else seems to have managed. Here I am getting negative again. So, lets try Chrome maybe I can get something to work third time around. I’ve spent almost 3 hours fiddling with this and have got nowhere, this is one of the reasons I get so disillusioned.

Leave a comment